Encounter on a train

My friend Ruth and I parted ways at Union Station, she to Hampton via Greyhound for her brother’s funeral and I to my sister Sheila’s via the Metro. We connected at the Amtrak station in Atlanta, walked to the train together, but sat on separate rows. I’m so glad I accepted her invitation for coffee then breakfast a few hours later. 

I listened as she regaled me with stories from her life’s journey. There was difficulty and pain, yes, but springing from that was hope and eventual love and happiness. We should all be open to such encounters; we never know what gifts await us. 

Included here is the pic of LOVE at the Culpeper, VA stop. I made it from the dining car window as Ruth and I sat enjoying each other’s company. 

  

Leave a Reply

